Organization of Turkic States pledges observer status for Turkish Cyprus - M5 Dergi
Defence NewsÖne Çıkan

Organization of Turkic States pledges observer status for Turkish Cyprus

Abone Ol 

The Organization of the Turkic States has accepted Turkish Cyprus as the observer state in a landmark decision for the Turkish Cypriots.

“The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus has been accepted as an observer member to the Organization of the Turkic States. We will stand with the TRNC everywhere and every time,” Foreign Minister Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu said on Nov. 11 on Twitter.

The organization met at the leaders’ level in Uzbekistan on Nov. 10 and 11. The heads of the member states have agreed that the Turkish Cypriots should be represented as an observer member in the organization.

“Step by step… That will happen, too,” Çavuşoğlu said, referring to Türkiye’s efforts to let the Turkish Cypriots recognized as an independent state by international organizations and countries.

Turkish Cyprus was established in 1984 but is only recognized by Ankara. The Greek Cypriot administration is representing the island in the international arena despite the rejections of Türkiye and Turkish Cyprus.

The U.N.-led efforts to end the division on the island and create a new entity where the Turkish and Greek Cypriots can co-exist have failed due to the latter’s unwillingness. Türkiye and the Turkish Cypriots underline that the only thing they will negotiate with the Greek Cyprus is the separation of the island and recognition of the independence of Turkish Cyprus.

“We have provided our contribution to the solution process by showing that our Cypriot brothers, an indispensable part of the Turkic world, are not alone. I want to thank you for displaying this solidarity,” President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan said in his address to the organization on Nov. 11.

Founded in 2009, the Turkic States include Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Türkiye and Uzbekistan. Hungary and Turkmenistan are the observer states.

Turkish Cypriot leader thanks Turkic States

Right after the announcement of the decision, Turkish Cypriot President Ersin Tatar issued a written statement to thank the Turkic States.

“My valuable people; I would proudly announce that our Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus has gained the observer status at the Organization of Turkic States. This decision that will be marked in history is an additional pride for us,” Tatar said.

He thanked Erdoğan and Çavuşoğlu as well as the leaders of the organization for pledging this status to Turkish Cyprus.

Abone Ol 

Related Articles

Abone Ol 
Back to top button